how many 3 point contests has bird won

The NBA Three-Point Contest is an annual event held during the NBA All-Star Weekend, showcasing the sharpshooting skills of some of the leagues best shooters, but of those best, who are the most successful ones? And who has won it?

Participants compete against each other to make the most three-point shots from various locations around the three-point arc within a specific time limit. The contest typically consists of multiple rounds, with shooters advancing based on their scores in each round.

Throughout its history, the Three-Point Contest has featured legendary shooters such as Larry Bird, Craig Hodges, and Stephen Curry, among others, demonstrating their precision and consistency from beyond the arc.

The contest has evolved over time, with changes to rules, formats, and scoring, but it remains a highly anticipated and entertaining part of the All-Star Weekend festivities.

Fans eagerly watch as players showcase their shooting prowess, providing thrilling moments and memorable performances year after year.

Here is a list of everyone who has won the contest since its inception in 1986:

History of NBA 3-Point Contest Winners

During his NBA career, Larry Bird was a lethal 3-point shooter, twice leading the league in made 3-pointers. That the future Hall of Famer enjoyed participating in the 3-Point Contest is therefore not surprising.

He began with a run of three consecutive years winning the competition when he won the first 3-Point Contest and went on to win the next two as well. After Dale Ellis ended the run in 1989, Craig Hodges went on his own three-game run from 1990 to 1992. Mark Price responded with two consecutive victories of his own.

Year Winner Team All-Star Weekend Location
1986 Larry Bird Celtics Dallas
1987 Larry Bird Celtics Seattle
1988 Larry Bird Celtics Chicago
1989 Dale Ellis Sonics Houston
1990 Craig Hodges Bulls Miami
1991 Craig Hodges Bulls Charlotte
1992 Craig Hodges Bulls Orlando
1993 Mark Price Cavs Salt Lake City
1994 Mark Price Cavs Minnesota
1995 Glen Rice Heat Phoenix
1996 Tim Legler Wizards San Antonio
1997 Steve Kerr Bulls Cleveland
1998 Jeff Hornacek Jazz New York
2000 Jeff Hornacek Jazz Oakland
2001 Ray Allen Bucks Washington, D.C.
2002 Peja Stojakovic Kings Philadelphia
2003 Peja Stojakovic Kings Atlanta
2004 Voshon Lenard Nuggets Los Angeles
2005 Quentin Richardson Suns Denver
2006 Dirk Nowitzki Mavs Houston
2007 Jason Kapono Raptors Las Vegas
2008 Jason Kapono Raptors New Orleans
2009 Daequan Cook Heat Phoenix
2010 Paul Pierce Celtics Dallas
2011 James Jones Heat Los Angeles
2012 Kevin Love Timberwolves Orlando
2013 Kyrie Irving Cavaliers Houston
2014 Marco Belinelli Spurs New Olreans
2015 Stephen Curry Warriors New York City
2016 Klay Thompson Warriors Toronto
2017 Eric Gordon Rockets New Orleans
2018 Devin Booker Suns Los Angeles
2019 Joe Harris Nets Charlotte
2020 Buddy Hield Kings Chicago
2021 Stephen Curry Warriors Atlanta
2022 Karl-Anthony Towns Timberwolves Cleveland
2023 Damian Lillard Trail Blazers Salt Lake City
2024 Damian Lillard Milwaukee Bucks Indianapolis

Famous shooters like Larry Bird, Craig Hodges, and Stephen Curry have participated in the Three-Point Contest throughout its history, showcasing their accuracy and reliability beyond the arc.

The following is a list of all the winners of the competition since its start in 1986:

To make the most three-point shots from different spots around the three-point arc in a set amount of time, competitors compete against one another. Usually, there are several rounds in the competition, and competitors advance according to how well they score in each round.

Every year, players’ shooting prowess creates exhilarating moments and unforgettable performances that fans eagerly watch.

Although the competition’s rules, formats, and scoring have changed over time, it is still a much-anticipated and enjoyable part of All-Star Weekend events.


How many 3-point contests did Mark Price win?

Price ranked consistently among the assist leaders (as of March 11, 2015, LeBron James surpassed Price’s Cavs record of 4,206 assists, taking over 1st place), twice won the Three Point Contest (in 1993 and 1994), and was a four-time All-Star.

Who has the highest score in the 3-Point Contest?

Curry holds the record for most 3-pointers made in an NBA career (3,390) and the highest three-point contest score in NBA history. Still, he falls short of New York Liberty’s Sabrina Ionescu, who scored a record-breaking 37 points in the final round of the 2023 WNBA 3-Point Contest.

How much do 3-Point Contest winners make?

In the 3-Point Contest, the champion of this long-distance shootout takes home a substantial $50,000 prize, with the runner-up and third-place finisher earning $35,000 and $25,000, respectively.